Notices

Sober without aa?

Old 05-13-2013, 11:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sober without aa?

Hi, I'm a 26 year old female, this is my first time posting to this site. I've many times since I was 15 considered quitting drinking but I never went more than a few days until this year. I felt bad for two weeks then I started to feel so amazing I couldn't believe it. Now I just had an alcohol binge and I've been sweating, having insomnia, my body aches, heart burn, anxiety, depression, self loathing etc. etc. anyways I really really badly want to quit. I know 100% I am an alcoholic. In the past I have had problems with bulimia and cocaine, but alcohol is my main problem. I black out each and every time I drink even if I am alone. I want so badly to be happy and healthy, but is it possible to quit without aa? I am not very social and I really don't like the idea of going
Old 05-13-2013, 11:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Different strokes for different folks. I am 3 weeks sober without any AA. I've tried it in the past.. It did help, but like you, have a difficult time with the social aspect of AA. As I am so new in my sobriety it is tough to give any advice, however I would assume that if you've tried to quit in the past multiple times and it didn't work.. maybe you need some support from a group that is established like AA? Not a very good response.. but just speaking my mind.. take it with a grain of salt..
Old 05-13-2013, 11:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sober since October

Location: In the world in my eyes...Somewhere I've never been before...
Hi, Doogie. Welcome to SR!

Glad you found this site - great supportive community here and tons of useful information.

If to give a straight answer to your question - yes, it's possible. There are a lot of people who managed to quit and stay sober using other methods - AVRT, SMART, etc. Check out Secular Connections thread.

Secular Connections - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information