Notices

Day 3, Gaining Insight

Old 05-08-2013, 02:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 3, Gaining Insight

Today has been an interesting day though I have only been awake for an hour. Shortly after waking, feeling insecure and depressed, I took ten minutes to do a guided meditation in which I visualized my ideal (future) self, exactly as I would like to be some day. My present, broken self approached Ideal Me and asked what I could do to become Her. She said, "Don't Drink, Don't Judge, Love." Those are the three things I have been working on since I relapsed severely Saturday night and blacked out.

The not drinking part is easy for the moment, since the misery it has wrought lately (and for my entire adult life) is in the forefront of my mind and it disgusts me to think about it. Or at least, it disgusts me to think about my behavior when drunk.

I am constantly surrounded by alcohol--I work in a restaurant/bar, which is not too bad, as I keep professional and busy and mainly regard the drinks as a neutral product I sell, (since all the classy people I wait on are examples of how to drink responsibly), but at home it is a 24/7 party pad. Well, maybe not 24/7 but people come over here and drink every day, often from noon until five in the morning. I have enjoyed this--feeling a part of a community of actors, artist, musicians, writers, with barbeques and family dinners and constant entertainment.

But now I just hide in my bedroom. I am ashamed to show my face. This has happened before, and many people have been through the ropes of addiction, back and forth, so they have been very patient with me, very forgiving. But instead of managing to stay off the juice for more than a week at a time, I overdo and it destroy everything all over again. So people are becoming less forgiving of my broken promises that I won't do it again.