SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   First post (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/293983-first-post.html)

thethirdsunrise 05-07-2013 08:28 PM

Hi,

I am not new to recovery but I am new to sustaining it. My addictions nearly killed me many times. part of me wants to give up and let the drugs and alcohol take over and the other to be clean. I can't stop the obsessive thoughts. Those in my family tell me relapse is a choice but I feel so out of control. I feel I will never be free of it and I'm scared.
-j

Dee74 05-07-2013 08:44 PM

Hi thethirdsunrise :)

That kind of ambivalence is pretty common I think but you can tip the balance on this - find as much support as you can, find as many sober shoulders to lean on as you can.

Make a conscious choice and feed the good side - you won't regret it :)

D

Coldfusion 05-07-2013 08:48 PM

:welcome

Why not commit to staying sober for 24 hours, and join our "24 Hour Club?" You just have to make a post in the thread in the Newcomer's Daily Support Forum.

Superpumped 05-07-2013 09:50 PM

I feel the same way thirdsunrise so your not alone .

Dee74 05-07-2013 09:55 PM

Welcome to SR Superpumped :)

D

Superpumped 05-07-2013 10:00 PM

Originally Posted by Dee74 (Post 3955742)
Welcome to SR Superpumped :)

D

Not to derail third but than you dee I appreciate that very much :-)

venuscat 05-07-2013 10:55 PM

thethirdsunrise and Superpumped ~ Welcome to both of you!!

I spent a long time not knowing if I wanted the alcohol and drugs to just take over; I was so miserable that I just wanted to be lost. To disappear.
Instead, I came here.
And like you sunrise, I was scared... I'm sure many of us were.