Notices

Need help with opiate abuse

Old 04-28-2013, 05:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need help with opiate abuse

Hello,

I am new to this site and am seeking people to talk to that may related to the addiction that I am going through. I have been abusing opiates for about 4 years now and I need help. I have no insurance and feel that I need to enter a rehab. Does anyone know if there is some kind of financial assistance for people like me? Also, any stories or encouragement to get off of these killers would be helpful. I am so dependent on them and it is starting to affect my finances.
Old 04-28-2013, 06:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi ShiningStr

I'm not an American so I'm not too sure what is available. I know the Salvation Army run free rehab services in many parts of the US.

The Salvation Army Family Stores: Rehabilitation Program

here's a phone contact that might be able to help you find what you need too

The National Drug and Alcohol Treatment Referral Routing Service available at 1-800-662-HELP. This service can provide you with information about treatment programs in your local community and allow you to speak with someone about alcohol problems
D
Old 04-29-2013, 07:35 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Marcher

Smile Do it!

Hey, Shiningstr,
I too was addicted to opiates for 7 years. It affected every aspect of my life. Now I have been sober for 45 days and I feel fantastic, most of the time. It was so worth it to quit. I quit the pills and the whole life I lived around them and I'll tell you, it was so freeing, like getting out of a self-inflicted prison. Do it! Quit the opiates! Come here often and read, then post, it's like therapy for me. Great people are here to support you and encourage you. It's up to you to free yourself, sounds like you want it. Don't overthink it, just start one day at a time.
Old 04-29-2013, 07:42 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Well said Joygirl...I was hooked on those dam pills too for years.