SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   seeking advice (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/291838-seeking-advice.html)

slayer93 04-18-2013 05:21 PM

seeking advice

Hey new to the site and just looking for some advice on trying to get sober but that's a challenge, here's a condensed story. I began drinking and getting high during my sophomore year in high school going to class messed up or not all and in my spare time I mostly did it out of boredom. It got out of hand to the point I was expelled and put in alternative school where I stayed for two more years until I got my diploma. Now all ive been doing since then is going to my pain in the ass college classes. When im not doing that im probably getting high or on the weekends drinking with friends. It seems like weed is the only thing to do to pass time and liquor has it's uses because it's the only thing that really helps me talk to people I don't know especially girls. I wanna get sober but I feel like I need both of these things just to have any fun or be social because if I am sober (like I am now)I get pissed off or just wanna break any useless object I come across. Any advice is welcomed.

Hevyn 04-18-2013 05:49 PM

Welcome slayer - it's great that you joined us & that you want to get sober. I know how hard it is to let go.

It's good you see that things need to change. I used to be bored when I wasn't drinking too, but later in life I found I never made a move without it. I know it makes you feel more sociable now - but if you continue counting on it to help you feel more comfortable, it'll be very hard to find normal relationships. I hope others will have some suggestions for you. I'm glad you came here to talk about it.

fantail 04-18-2013 06:04 PM