Notices

1 Day Sober and Struggling....

Old 04-15-2013, 08:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1 Day Sober and Struggling....

I've been drinking nightly for roughly 20 years, aside from my pregnancies/nursing. I've never put in much of an effort to stop. The first 10 years were beer & wine and then bumped it up to vodka/tonic. Over the past few years I have found myself hung over more days than not and having many internal dialogues about how I need to stop this, but never do. It's become worse because I feel like I can't connect with other women to make new friendships unless they want to go out for drinks, that's what I do, drink. I don't participate in other leisure activities. Non-drinking activities sound like a huge bore to me. I typically don't drink crazy amounts Su-Th, but come Friday and Saturday we (husband and I) start drinking and don't stop until I black out and pass out. I sleep until 11ish, and have 3 kids 10 & under. We've trained them to behave & be quiet while mommy & daddy are sleeping. They're getting to an age where soon they're going to figure us out...why we sleep so late and still have to take an afternoon nap on the sofa. It's pathetic! I fear when my kids go play with neighbor children that they may let it get out that "my mom sleeps until almost lunch time", maybe have already?? I hide it fairly well (I think)...closet drinker & smoker too...which is another thing I beat myself up about. I didn't attribute this to my drinking, but last summer a few things happened in my life that led me to be depressed, drink even more, and the depression became even more crippling, I finally went to a therapist for help...talk about everything except my drinking...I didn't share that part of the story. Now I'm on antidepressants, which helps, but I wonder if I wasn't drinking so much if that would be necessary. I feel like I cannot do this anymore and at the same time feel like I can't stop because I feel like I will be giving up my best friend & the only leisu