Notices

Still trying, but not exactly 'new'

Old 04-10-2013, 10:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Shape-Shifting Super-Hero

Still trying, but not exactly 'new'

Hello, I'm not really new, but making a new start. Where to begin? I'm 45, gay, an atheist, I like to read a great deal, especially literature and poetry of the 20th century, I love art, museums, and I'm not too good with overly structured environments. I have found that face to face support helps, but it's been very hard to find such support that I have a way to get to. I don't want to mention any groups, but it has been hard, for me, as one who is very much extroverted, to find company in which I can talk about Sobriety in real life. The internet has been a mixed bag, looking back...it seems so distant, in ways, unreal in certain senses. So far, I have tried to rely on myself the most, but having sober RL friends helps, only I have had a hard time finding them. I've seen therapists on and off for decades; sometimes, it seems to help, sometimes not.

It has actually been 8 years since I first said, ‘You know, I should stop drinking’. It was singer-songwriter John Hiatt who gave me the idea, or reading about his life. So at the time, he had a forum on his website, and I asked, how did he give up drinking? He never replied directly, that I know of, but I did get a lot of replies from folks, and that was when I first became really scared of recovery, due to the wrathful/fire and brimstone tone of so many of them. So then, I sought out a certain meeting friendly to Atheists, and began those meetings, and had some success, almost a whole month, which may seem like little, but at the time, was great. Then, the moderator moved away, and then things fell apart again.