SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Day 1 (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/290662-day-1-a.html)

PeppyGirl 04-09-2013 12:51 PM

Day 1

Hi everyone,

I have been reading these posts over the past several months but this is my first time posting. A little about me: I am a 30-something stay at home mom to 4 kids. Before I stayed home I earned a Master's Degree and had a professional career. Alcohol was never a serious problem for me except within the past 2 years or so, after I weaned my youngest child and started having some serious depression issues. I have a loving husband who I love with all of my heart. My drinking has escalated to ridiculous proportions and I need to quit. I have tried several times and can usually get to day 5 or 6 before I drink again to the point of complete blacking out. My kids are getting older and starting to catch on to this. I am on medication for my depression now and an seeing a therapist. I have also started to go to AA meetings. :thanks

Impurrfect 04-09-2013 12:57 PM

((PeppyGirl)) - Welcome to SR!! Sounds like you've made some wise decisions as far as therapy, meetings and antidepressants. You'll find all kinds of support here, and for me, that helped a lot:)

Hugs and prayers,

Amy

FeenixxRising 04-09-2013 01:00 PM

Welcome peppy. It appears you're taking the right steps to get sober. IMO, work as hard as you can right now. You're only two years into this and it seems you have a supportive family; you really don't want to let this get worse.

Stick around here, there is a lot of support and encouragement here.

deeker 04-09-2013 01:02 PM

[QUOTE=PeppyGirl;3907918]Hi everyone,