Notices

Need help

Old 04-08-2013, 10:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need help

I am back after a few ups and down. Tonight I told my soon to be spouse that needed support to help me with my alcohol problem.
I decided to talk after going to a meeting and I was advised it should be one of my first steps.
My fiancé refused. He said that it is my own business and that if I really want to get sober I shouldn't have to ask for support from people like him or my friends. He said its not their fault if I can't drink normally. He says I will blame him if he help me and I want to drink anyways.. It's my first attempt so its not like I am a serial relapser.

What should I do? I am deeply hurt and I am worry about my sobriety without support and marrying someone who won't support me. Am I being to selfish?

P
Old 04-08-2013, 10:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Hi Prion,

I don't think you're being selfish. My wife and I understand that sobriety is the only way our relationship can survive.

Some of the threads in the Friends and Family section could give you an idea what it's like being married to someone who doesn't support sobriety.

Best wishes!
Old 04-08-2013, 11:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Prion. I have serious concerns here. I think you need to get absolutely clarity on what your partner will and will not do to keep you sober. And that he needs to understand that sobriety is a life long event, will he be able or willing to help you on your journey?

All the best!
Old 04-09-2013, 12:00 AM
  # 4 (permalink)