Notices

New to threads AND sobriety

Old 04-06-2013, 04:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to threads AND sobriety

Hey all,

As stated in title, I am new to any type of forums and sobriety. While I'm sure it's been heard and said before, this is me and my road to sobriety....
I had been prescribed pain meds infrequently in the past for things like toothaches and kidney stones and never cared for them. They caused me to become tired and sick to stomach. In January 2010, I had a horrible tooth infection that ended with wrong tooth being treated and two weeks of the worst pain I had ever endured. The dentist was quick with her rx pad and wrote me scripts for everything in the book... Tylenol 3, vicodin, Percocet, and Demerol. For some reason that spring, my demon named addiction came out.

I started going to dentist with toothaches, the doctor for back pain, ect. May 2010 we found out kiddo #2 was coming, but that didn't stop my craving for meds. The scripts came infrequently because of pregnancy, but still around 1x a month because of nasty kidney stones I got all during pregnancy. Early 2011 I had my second child, and celebrated with the large quantity of Percocet prescribed to me from doc. I would manage scripts here and there until we moved to Texas at the end of summer. I had started grad school and found pain pills to take the edge off.

During a visit where I hoped to score pain meds, she asked if I had ever been diagnosed ADD/ADHD. Yes, ever since I was 6 but had NEVER (honestly) taken a stimulant med for it. She scripted me Vyvanse 50mg, and from there I became quickly to both stimulants and pain meds. Things took a turn for the worse when I found someone in early 2012 who sold them from work and I began secretly buying them from her. It went from a few each week to buying 15-20 10mg vicodin and 10-15 20mg Adderall a week, on top of my prescription of Vyvanse and anything I could swindle out of my doc and dentist.