Notices

Help! Severe DT's

Old 04-05-2013, 01:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help! Severe DT's

Hello,

I'm new and came here as a last resort. No one in my family knows I drink and I haven't told my doc so far. If I don't get help with quitting, I will have to go to rehab and the secret will come out.

I've been drinking heavily for the past many years. Two days ago I decided to quit and move on. It went well at first, until I got the DT's pretty bad. I got:

Shaking, muscle tremors.
Confusion.
Getting startled at about any noise.
Insomnia.
Sweating.

As it progressed I started to get:

Weakness.
Headaches.
Trouble seeing, losing vision partly.
Feeling I was about to die.
Paranoia.
Severe physical stress.
Almost fainting,

Then it got worse into:

Trouble speaking.
Phasing in and out.
Losing touch with the world.
Not being able to calculate simple numbers, like 16 times 8. I used to get that almost instantly.
Staring blankly, not being able to receive input.
Further and further fading away. Vision darkening, severe shaking in bed. Losing consciousness.
Feeling like I just woke up and wondering what was going on in everyday situations.

And this started to get worse. I think I had mini blackouts where I was gone for a short moment and had to orient myself back into the situations.

I've read up on DT's and I'm worried. The wisest thing I figured I could do for now is to pick up some booze and all this stuff went away. But what now? Tapering off? Would that work?

If I really have to, I will go see a doctor. And my whole secret will be out and it will ruin my life, but at least keep me alive.

Or am I worrying too much and is this something that will simply pass.

Please help!

Old 04-05-2013, 01:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Please get someone to help you to the ER as soon as possible.
It wouldn't matter much what people find out/think if you're not around anymore.
Old 04-05-2013, 01:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)