Notices

Newbie Here

Old 04-01-2013, 07:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie Here

After a long struggle I think I'm finally ready to give up alcohol. Not that I completely want to, but I feel that I need to. Since college I've been a binge drinker on weekends. I kept things confined to weekends but usually drank in excess. About two years ago my drinking evolved...I started blacking out more. And sometimes I found that when I was hung-over that it was easier to have a drink that morning than deal with the hangover. Anyway, I've toyed with the idea of getting sober before. And I can stop when I need to. But, after the feelings of guilt and embarrassment wear off, I convince myself that I'm fine. Lately things have been really bad. I typically black out. Once I passed out on the metro ride home and ended up in a BAD neighborhood, and had to take a cab home as some gang members eyed me. I decided to quit for lent. I made it a month, before I had a bad day...I convinced myself that I could go back to drinking, but just moderate my drinking and sticking to beer. Before I knew it, I was back to my old ways of bourbon, black-outs and embarrassing behavior. My wife and father have intervened a few times...my dad was the first, he's a recovering alcoholic with 30 years sober.

In any event, here I am. I hate the idea of the "nuclear" option of going 100% sober for the rest of my life. I hate the idea of not being able to enjoy a cold beer at a baseball game or a glass of wine with dinner. But, for me that "one cold beer" becomes five and then ten and then shots at a bar afterwords, an expensive cab ride home, lost cell-phone, etc. I'm pretty upset at myself and really worried about the stigma of alcoholism, and missing out on some good times. I hate the idea of having to constantly explain why I'm not drinking... but I don't want to end up in a ditch, with no money and no job and no wife.
Old 04-01-2013, 07:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Trez!