Notices

Day 3, again...but new here!!

Old 03-23-2013, 03:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Day 3, again...but new here!!

Hi guys, thanks everyone for being here. I'm lying in bed, just trying to get through. I've read through the site and like what I see. I think it will be a good place for me to check in and give my progress. I've been drinking on and off for about 18 years??? I went through many years when it was not such a huge problem, although I would be in a much different place in life if I had not been drinking. No job, no prospects of getting a job. 20 years of NO Experience. I went through college late in life and then did nothing. If I'd quit 6 years ago when this started to really hold me down, I'd be set now. I wanted to be a Biologist in Africa, not a 'sick loser' in my poophole apartment. Regret, guilt, anger, fear.

I always, always felt different, alone, depressed and all that. Now the drinking is never fun. I turn into a really nasty person, and I'm a sweet guy. I am barely tolerated at the bar and have been banned from one. I feel awful when I drink and worse when I don't. The problem now is the extreme joint pain, especially my knees, and I tend to sleep for most of a week if I stop, hence being in bed. But after that week, I should feel better. I went for 30 days about 1 year ago and couldn't believe how much better I felt. And I felt better right away, now at 43 I can't bounce back and it would only get worse. I had to keep pushing, keep experimenting, and now it's way harder. I can't take the joint pain anymore and that's it, PERIOD, no more!! My knees are really bad and I am going to go to the Doc this week. I think it's all inflammation.