Notices

Hi Guys, new to site...

Old 03-20-2013, 07:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool Hi Guys, new to site...

Hello all, i am 19 years old, male, first time trying to get sober, for myself this time. Not for family and friends, although they are part of the reason. I graduated high school, and my parents sent me to rehab. i didnt want to go, obviously but i saw it as a way to get them off of my back when i go back. I smoked weed every day, drank and did ecstasy on weekends, did mushrooms about 1 or twice a month, but once i started doing xanax and oxycontin thats when my life got bad. i barely passed senior year of high school. so, i sorta wanted to go to rehab, but not really at the same time. about 2 weeks into the rehab, i started to get serious about recovery after doing notebooks on who i hurt, how much money ive spent/wasted, how i got in trouble legally, etc. i talked to my counselor about recovery homes or after care programs. I found one, and talked to my parents about it. They were all for it. I went to rehab on July 27, 2012 and got to my after care program on September 6, 2012. It is a year long program (for the most part) and i have been here for about 6 months. I have been sober, going to meetings daily, been with good kids my age (18-26) and i like it here alot. Recently i've been having thoughts of drinking when i leave here, like i said this is my first time trying to get sober so i havent experienced trying only drinking on weekends, or only smoking weed. i know it cant, but my mind keeps saying i can. so i figured id step up my game, join some sites, do more reading, go to more meetings, all that stuff. i do have a sponsor and call him daily and working the steps. went over the 8th step with him last week. i will be visiting home around Easter and will hopefully make my amends to my family and family friends (if i dont b*tch out). but anyways, new to the site, looking to be active here, gonna try to visit it at least once a day.
have a good night.