Notices

Stayed sober at the bar....

Old 03-01-2013, 11:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Stayed sober at the bar....

Last night was an interesting event. I am a musician, so staying out of bars is almost an impossibility (that's pretty much the only kind of gigs available right now). My friend and I decided to quit together (day 11) so he came with me. It wasn't too hard to not drink, especially as the night progressed... things I noticed:

EVERYONE was decently shmammered by the end of the night. I never noticed this before cause I'm always drunk too. I always assume some of these people gotta be sober I mean... they're driving! The few who stayed sober enough to drive had left by the second set.

Drunk conversations are completely useless and void of any significance whatsoever. My friend and I hung out and smoked with a group of about 10. Everyone was loud and sloppy, paying no attention to anything anyone else was saying. Incoherence, wild laughter at ridiculous jokes, nearly falling down, comments that make absolutely no sense. We went so far as to start shouting the most absurd statements loudly in the midst of the group to try and distract someone from the belligerence, but to no effect.

Most bar patrons are in stark denial of their drinking habits. Nuff said.

This took place in my hometown (which I recently moved from) so some of my friends were there and were very encouraging when I told them that I quit for good (no pressure, lucky to have good friends). That was pretty awesome. But seeing an evening go down on a typical bar night while sober was kind of an eye opener. I went over and over in my mind the many mistakes I would likely have made that night if I had drank. How stupid did I used to look on nights like these? How many people were giggling behind my back at my behavior? This is what I hung onto for so long?