Notices

Why I need to remember the early days

Old 02-12-2013, 02:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why I need to remember the early days

I work in education with very young kids. Sometimes I forget how far they have come from the first day of school where they all showed up confused, scared, crying in unison and puking from crying (FYI~ I was puked on twice on the first day of school). Now when I see them walk into school with a smile on their face, write their name or anything else that they do amazingly, I feel so proud!
Today is my 32nd day sober and that first month was HARD! Like my kids, I started out confused, scared, sad and sick. I was confused if I was an alcoholic, scared about living my life without alcohol, and sick and sad from withdrawals. I was anxious but open to doing the work. Thankfully, I 'showed up' everyday and did the work to remain sober as I will continue to do. I am thankful for being present everyday and I am learning to problem solve/cope with my problems and emotions sans alcohol and even slowly getting back to accomplishing my goals.
In the same way that I need to remember how my students started out so that I can fully acknowledge how much progress they have made and will continue to make, I need to remember my beginning and how difficult it was so that I will not be tempted to go back to that sad, chaotic and pukey place. I may be in the 'baby class' but I am happy to be in it and am learning lots even though I have lots of schooling ahead of me. :-)
Old 02-12-2013, 02:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Faith and reason

Great post, SasaKay. Congrats on Day 32!
Old 02-12-2013, 07:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I like this. Congratulations.
Old 02-12-2013, 07:31 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

:d
Old 02-12-2013, 07:38 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Excellent analogy, Sasa - I loved it.
Old 02-12-2013, 07:57 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Doing Business Since 11/3/2012