Notices

Booze fueled workplace drama!

Old 01-21-2013, 01:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Booze fueled workplace drama!

Man, what a day. I work as a pro cook and it's a rough-and-tumble lifestyle. Lots of drinking and drugs. What can I say- we work hard and play hard. At any rate I work with a nice younger guy that's a real burnout. He's a recent vet that got discharged for being a drunk basically. His life is pretty much a spiral down the drain, it's sad to say. Last night he learned he'd read the schedule wrong and had to close tonite and flipped the eff out; he was screaming, kicking stuff, etc. As he left for the night he was bitching that he needed to put his notice in.

Well, tonite he showed up an hour late and so drunk he could hardly walk. One of the guys called the sous chef; he didn't want to come in and deal with the guy so he told the kid who called to tell him to go home. Long story short, I thought for a minute the two of them would come to blows. He was screaming that he's "killed guys in Afghanistan for less", he ain't leavin', etc etc. Eventually we got him out of there without violence, although I presume he drove home (too drunk to walk, I imagine).

It's a sad deal. He's an alcoholic and he knows it, he just doesn't care yet. It's something I've seen so many times over the years...The kitchen is hot, the work can be stressful and the hours can suck. You drink to cope with the stress, but you come in so hung over you can't see straight. The fact that you feel like $hit makes the day even harder and more stressful, so when you get off you can't wait to get $hitfaced and blow off steam. Which leads back to the next day sucking again...

I hope he made it home without killing anyone. He might have saved his job if he'd have just left right away, but the screaming match in front of a dining room full of customers almost certainly cost him his job. All I can hope is that it will be the wake-up call he needs to get his $hit together.