SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Day 4 and I hate asking for help for anything (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/280576-day-4-i-hate-asking-help-anything.html)

LisbethSalander 01-11-2013 01:19 PM

Day 4 and I hate asking for help for anything

Hi all, with the support of my husband I've decided I'm not doing a very good job at 'controlling' my drinking and must stop this insanity before I do some harm to myself, my family or someone else.

I'm a college graduate, I hold a well paying full time job and have 2 great girls (ages 5 and 12) and a husband. I've always been a hard worker and very independent. It's a challenge for me to ask even my family for help around the house. My husband's work hours doesn't allow him to get home from work until 9pm so I've relied on wine to get me through the end of work till the kids go to bed. I feel horrible that I can't enjoy my kids without alcohol. My 12 year old is realizing when 'mommy has had a couple of drinks'. My husband doesn't appreciate coming home to me being buzzed caring for the kids and bombed by the time I go to bed. I don't drink every day, but when I do, I can't just have 1 or 2 like I used to. Now it has to be 4 or 5 for me to feel satisfied. I definitely see a progression in my drinking and have hidden or covered it up at times.

I'm on my 4th day without a drink. I didn't suffer any physical withdrawals but can definitely feel an emotional void like "what do I do with myself now?". I play with the kids, take them out, watch tv with them but in the back of my head I'm thinking 'how do I do this and enjoy myself without wine?'. Like I said I feel horrible feeling this way. I wish I could just enjoy them without needing to make myself happy in some other way.