Notices

Why do we drink when we have everything going for us?!

Old 12-29-2012, 11:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why do we drink when we have everything going for us?!

This is my first time reaching out about my drinking. What brought me here?

I had another one of 'those nights' last night. After getting off work around five, I went and purchased paints for mural I am currently working on to surprise my boyfriend. I then hustled over to the gym for a grinding lower body session to get in shape for travelling Southeast Asia this February. I finally topped off the night with a hot shower, worked a bit on a freelance writing project, and then let my eyes drift off to sleep to a few chapters of 'Atlas Shrugged'.

Oh wait. That's what I WISHED had happened.

Instead, I had a glass of wine at work (I work in a restaurant). Afterwards, I came home and snuck a few shots of whatever hard A was in the kitchen while my roommates weren't paying attention. Once I deemed myself too useless to accomplish anything, I decided I would just go to bed early to conquer tomorrow. But before tomorrow (today) arrived, I found myself awake at three in the morning, overwhelmed with feelings of guilt, judgement, frustration, and helplessness.

Why didn't I just listen to my rational mind and NOT DRINK. Just do not bend your arm at the elbow while palming a glass bottle of a mind altering substance, it's NOT THAT HARD. I'm only 27, I'm a smart girl with so much potential to tap into, why do I give these days away to booze?

I can wheel and deal drinks all day at work without a craving, but as soon as the sun sets (which is 4 p.m. in the winter, mind you) the craving just hits me like a brick! Am I witnessing the beginning of a slippery slope? I thought I was strong enough, strong enough to just enjoy a few glasses of Pinot Noir with girlfriends on the weekends. But that is not how things are unraveling, and I am thinking sobriety is a path I should be considering.