Notices

What's your story? I'm finding strength in all of you....

Old 12-29-2012, 03:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What's your story? I'm finding strength in all of you....

To each of you courageous souls out there willing to share your pain and your stories, I THANK YOU for getting me here and helping me through the dark days!

I am a single professional woman - unmarried without children in a high level job who was always the "life of the party", the social coordinator, the one to call to meet out. It started out innocently enough as I always enjoyed wine. I would occasionally try another drink but always returned to wine. the past year or so, I noticed my wine consumption increase and so began an "every other night" habit. (the next day was hangover day where I would drink 2 liters of water and take vitamins). Then, in the past several months, I started having blackouts! I embarrassed myself in public settings and would fall over! The next day, I could not remember details.
What a progressive disease this is!
I spent Christmas alone as my family is upset with me (they heard "stories") and now... I am here feeling strong. I joined a workout group that i am heading to now and have not had any alcohol in 14 days. I do have a question for the group:
What is your story? I get so much strength from reading yours...and....I did not experience the withdrawal symptoms you speak of. Are they to come? What did you experience with withdrawal?
Thank you thank you thank you
Old 12-29-2012, 03:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

ALSO: I forgot to mention: waking up without a hangover is amazing
Old 12-29-2012, 05:39 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Thriving sober since 12/18/08

Welcome

Here's mine: http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-my-story.html You'll find a ton of other stories there too!
Old 12-29-2012, 06:18 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-my-story.html

justa small part of it.
Old 12-29-2012, 06:34 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate