Notices

Question about my sober date

Old 12-24-2012, 01:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question about my sober date

Hello,
I've been searching the Internet to help me with my question and this seems like a good place.
I have been in AA since 12/21/10, my last actual drunk ending on 12/20/10. I have been using this sober date for the last two years.
A year and some change ago, I was sick with the flu. I could find any AA approved meds that were helping me. I was home in the afternoon and I couldn't sleep, so I decided to take some NyQuil. In fact, I took 3 doses of NyQuil. I knew it was a bad idea, but I wanted to sleep so badly that I did it anyway. I went right to sleep. (On a side note, looking back, I was always pretty "proud" that I didn't down the entire bottle)
I told my husband (not an alcoholic) about it as soon as he got home from work. I felt really horrible about it and needed to get it off my chest. He told me that it was ok, I made a mistake and shouldn't beat myself up over it. I accepted this and realized that yes, this was a horrible mistake and I have never done anything like that again.
I got my 1 year medallion a few months later without any real thought of this incident. A few months after that (almost a year ago from now) I was doing my 5th step with my sponsor and I told her about this. She was surprised to hear it but she was glad I told her. I asked if I needed to change my sober date and start from the beginning and she said she didn't think so, but that we could talk about it if I wanted. It never came up again after my 5th step. I forgave myself for it as a mistake and a learning experience.
Fast forward to 12/21/12.