Notices

Any good excuses to tell people why I'm not drinking?

Old 12-19-2012, 10:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Any good excuses to tell people why I'm not drinking?

Hello, of course my close friends/family know about my alcoholism. But I would NEVER tell a colegue or anyone in my professional world. (none of them would even suspect). In my line of work, if a potential client learned that I am recovering, they would judge off the bat & not want to give me their business. (i see it happen all time) I'd be too much of a risk etc. etc. (even though im a functioning alcy) My question is, when I go to special events or cocktail parties for work. What are some good excuses as to why I'm not drinking? So far, all I have is- I'm on antibiotics
Old 12-19-2012, 04:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm pretty new to this, but I wonder why anyone has to know why?

I dont drink, it's because my brother is an alcoholic, my uncle was and frankly, I'm scared of the stuff.....I've been asked why I dont drink and my answer is "because I choose not to". That is usually enough, but a few folks have pursued the question and I simply ignore them.
Old 12-19-2012, 04:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm driving?

I don't drink alcohol?

I don't drink?

(bearing in mind that they don't know that you have a problem - they wouldn't bat an eyelid no matter what reason you come up with so don't worry about it)

x
Old 12-19-2012, 04:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

No thanks, I don't drink. Yeah, I stopped back in xxxx, lost a bunch of weight and realized I didn't miss drinking, so I stopped completely.
Old 12-19-2012, 04:48 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Same as others just say it as it is.
Old 12-19-2012, 04:53 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Ba**ysMama

Alergic?? hey some folks are.. or that it ruins your sleep?
Old 12-19-2012, 05:03 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Administrator

Don't lie.

Say, 'No thanks'. You don't owe anyone an explanation.
Old 12-19-2012, 05:18 PM
  # 8 (permalink)