Notices

First attempt at sobriety

Old 12-18-2012, 08:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First attempt at sobriety

Hi, I already posted today, but I would like to post again. I hope that is ok.

I have been struggling with drugs and alcohol for 18 years. Through my teens and twenties I thought it was fun and cool, not a problem. However I am now in my early thirties. My constant out of control binge drinking ruined my reputation in graduate school, contributed to losing my job, and destroyed a relationship (the job and relationship in the past two weeks). Not to mention preventing me from really knowing and loving myself.

This is my first attempt at sobriety. Because I have been drinking for so long it almost feels normal. Today the denial crept in. I am hoping I can stay strong and successfully battle this denial as I move forward.

This forum is the first step I took toward finding support. I am also seeking out support groups in my neighborhood so I can participate face-to-face with others. I would love to go to a substance abuse therapist but the no job thing makes that kind of difficult.

I'm not sure what else to say. Thanks for listening.
Old 12-18-2012, 08:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I too am in my early thirties and am very new to living a sober lifestyle. Although I was skeptical about AA, it really has helped me. I have been going once a week and I feel refreshed after leaving the meetings. It really takes my mind off of drinking and gets me in a new headspace for sobriety. Are you opposed to giving AA a try?
Old 12-18-2012, 08:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I know how you feel CNH. I too am in my early 30's and cannot imagine life without a glass of wine in my hand.