Notices

Sober for 11 days

Old 12-17-2012, 06:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sober for 11 days

Hello,

I have had issues with alcohol since I was in my mid thirties. It was controllable at that time. I quit for several years then I remarried an emotionally abusive man who drinks and smoke marijuana. He insisted I had to work since his job didn't pay much, and he was always around on my payday. I am a nurse. My family doesn't care for him. He is always telling me that I am stupid, a drunk, irresponsible and to get out. It hurt so bad. I turned to alcohol basically to live with him. A few weeks ago, he told me to get out, went on with the name calling, so I left. I could not get into a detox program because I made too much the year before. So, I went to my primary care DR and he prescribed medication to help with the withdrawls. I don't want to drink anymore. I know I am an alcoholic and one drink will put me right back where I was. I am looking alot better. I had put on 20 pounds and it is slowly coming off. I am still having an issue with depression and cry easily. I am also unemployed and looking for work so I have no money. I am lonely and he still contacts me wanting to get back together but when I try to address the issues with him....he turns into Dr Jekyl. I know he is no good for me but I must be codependent. I believe everything he says to me. Anyway, I am holding strong on not drinking. My ex died from complications of alcohol. It terrifies my children when I drink. They are grown but they are afraid of losing their mommy. I like the sober me and I love my kids more than anything.