SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Question About Heroine/ Crack Detox (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/277087-question-about-heroine-crack-detox.html)

MirandaDee 12-09-2012 11:35 PM

Question About Heroine/ Crack Detox

Hey, everyone, I was kicked out of my house exactly 7 days ago, causing me to have to go thru cold turkey detox from heroine and crack. I've been using D steadily for two years now, not to mention the minimum of 6 months previous with prescription opiates. And about 7 months on the rock.
The dope is definitely the main issue. The worst is over, I've just been experiencing cold sweats and muscle aches the last few days which is completely tolerable but I've also suddenly been unable to sleep. I'm exhausted; physically, mentally, emotionally, but i still can't sleep. I get a few hours before the sun comes up if I'm lucky. I was wondering if this persistant insomnia is a symptom of the detox from either drug. I got clean before when i was only using heroine, but it was with the aide of suboxone.
I'd really appreciate any and all input, especially if anyone has any pointers to help me sleep.

Tlh 12-09-2012 11:50 PM

Hi MirandaDee, Congrats on being sober and welcome to SR :c031:

And yes the insomnia is definitely one of the worst symptoms you get while detoxing, but eventually you will be able to get good rest... I've dealt with it all on the opiates side, never done crack, so I wouldn't know about that, but the symptoms should almost all be gone, have you been clean for 7 days? or have you used since getting kicked out of your home?

God Bless
TJ

MirandaDee 12-10-2012 12:03 AM

i used 4 days ago, other than that i havn't touched any form of intoxicant.

MirandaDee 12-10-2012 12:04 AM