Notices

Drug driving charge

Old 12-07-2012, 10:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Drug driving charge

I am nearly 5 months sober .. but it seems I still haven't got a handle on ODing on prescription medication... on Tuesday I ODed and then drove myself to hospital... i crashed into someone then crashed into a lampost... i got arrested and have been bailed following a hearing in January...

I feel sick with worry that i will go to jail... i've never done anything like this before, this will be my first driving offence, my first offence of any kind .. ever.. and i am facing jail time... i dont' think i can handle it if i went to jail...

the urge to drink my way out of this problem is so high I didn't know where else to turn...
Old 12-07-2012, 10:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I should just point out that no-one was hurt thankfully but it could have been a very different outcome ...
Old 12-07-2012, 10:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry you're going through this. I'm glad you're safe.

I have no idea what the laws are in Wales, but it might be a good idea to talk to a lawyer to find out more about the situation.
Old 12-07-2012, 10:50 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

thanx yeh i have a solicitor in place who is coming with me to my hearing in January.. he's also obtaining all the police records from when they arrested me as i can't remember anything so have no idea what i said...

i don't know how i'm going to get through this
Old 12-07-2012, 11:27 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I have been convicted of DUIs (drunk) and I have been in your situation. Try not to let the fear drive you or to drink. It is what it is and you WILL make it through it. Stay sober and it and everything will be a lot easier to bear.
Old 12-07-2012, 11:33 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Get professional help with you're drug addiction and get a lawyer for you're drug charge. Wales is a lot harder on DWI/DUI then the USA and you may not get off lightly without one. Good look!
Old 12-07-2012, 11:34 AM