Notices

Hi everyone I'm a newbie

Old 12-06-2012, 08:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi everyone I'm a newbie

Hello to all,
My name is Marley.
I am an alcoholic, I have been drinking for the past 30 plus years, always went out to get drunk and have a good time, in the past 5 years this has got much worse, I was consuming 3 litres of red wine a night untill I clonked out, I never ever took a drink during the day, but the past two years have been a total nightmare, drinking all times of the day. I have some problems in my life apart from alcohol, and have now developed agoraphobia, getting help has been very difficult, I have tried several organisations, without luck, but I have now got some phone sessions with a councelor that deals with alcohol and helps with my other problems with CBT I had my first session on Tuesday, it was mainly a lot of questions so she could get a handle on 'me' I have some bumph coming in the post to help, I have read most of the big book but found some of it very hard reading, I am going to search for some other books to help, If anyone has any recommendations I would be very grateful. since around mid October, since I started to get some very sporadic help, I have now switched my drink to 5.3% cider and have managed to keep it to one 2 litre bottle, and sometimes a little less, I have also fallen off the one bottle wagon a few times and ended up drunk. I have decided to taper off, I hope it will work, I started yesterday with half a pint less, and tonight will be another half a pint less, and so on until I have weaned myself right off, I really have no idea how I will be but I really need to be determined with this, any help or advice would be warmly welcomed
Marley
Old 12-06-2012, 08:31 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Marley. Good luck to you, many people do try to wean themselves down, for some it works, for most it doesn't. Feel free to join us in the Class of December thread on this board, lots of support there.