Notices

Some Legal Advice, Please!

Old 11-30-2012, 03:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Some Legal Advice, Please!

It seems now that the only way to save my marriage is let my wife feel that my swear to quit drinking is legally obliged.

Is there some kind of document we can sign that states if I drink again, she can divorce me right away and I have to agree to leave without taking any share of our assets?

I only hope such legal document can prove to her how serious I am to stop drinking for ever. But first, does this sort of thing exist in the first place?

Thank you very, very much for any input.
Old 11-30-2012, 03:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

We can't give out legal advice. You should contact an attorney.
Old 11-30-2012, 03:32 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Member of SMART Recovery

I'm an attorney, here to tell you that you need to see an attorney. There is no way that I or anyone else here can advise you on that.

I am glad you are serious about quitting, though! That is the way to be.
Old 11-30-2012, 03:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you, guys. I didn't know it's against the rule to seek leagal advice. Actually I was not looking for advice. I just want to know if an attorney can help us prepare such documents, meaning such documents do exist. Pls delete my post. Sorry for the trouble.
Old 11-30-2012, 03:44 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

There is actually no 'no legal advice' rule

I do think the advice here is good tho - if you want to know your options I think it makes sense to talk to a professional, arhat

D
Old 11-30-2012, 03:49 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Sober Alcoholic

Here is a tidbit of information you might want to consider. One of the two founders of Alcoholics Anonymous (Bill W.) made pledges (more than one) to his wife to stop drinking, and wrote them in the family bible. It did not work. It turned out that he needed a bit more than his will power alone to stop. That’s not true for everyone, but it is for many, including myself.