Notices

A profound experience this morning.

Old 11-21-2012, 10:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A profound experience this morning.

I haven't posted much around here but I do read a lot of the forum posts on various subjects. I did post a thread awhile back ago about the need for a higher power. I had over 1500 views and it turned into a bit of a debate.

For a long time I have had more of an atheist point of view. As an engineer I try to view things very logically and have only believed in a higher power when I was younger.

For the past two weeks I have been on quite the binge where I was drinking every night and getting drunk about every other. I can't drink during the day because of work but after 7:00PM all bets are off. I finally decided that enough is enough after waking up soaked from night sweats.

I have been practicing AVRT for the past 4 days for the first time. It has worked so far, I haven't been sober for 4 days straight since last summer. I went to AA in the past only a couple of times and then joined a general outpatient group last June that was 12 step based but very preachy. As you can imagine someone with no real belief in a higher power wouldn't last long and I didn't.

After my about 20 days of sobriety, the general outpatient group gave me a silver 24hr coin. I read the prayer on the back and just chucked it in my pocket. I quit going to any sessions shortly after that.

Yesterday was really hard for me. I travel a bit for my job and this is when I usually do my really heavy drinking, in a hotel room, No kids, no
responsibilities, just me and my vice. I had some really strong cravings last night after work traveling to a hotel. I used AVRT to overcome most of the cravings but still found myself finding the best route to a liquor store on the GPS. I finally threw it down, threw up my hands and said, "If your there help me now. please!"