Notices

Are there any happy endings???

Old 11-19-2012, 10:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Are there any happy endings???

Hi Everyone,

Im new to addiction and I have read this site till my eyes have bled. lol but true.

My boyfriend is addicted to lortabs. He got in an outpatient program and got on

suboxone in July. He was doing very well then just started making excuses.. He

missed appointments and meetings so he had no suboxone. He had to have his

wisdom teeth cut out last week and they gave him percs.....so you know where

is going....I know he is either still buying or withdrawing. He has no money and I

havent seen him in a few days to know about the withdrawing, I will know later

today when I see him.

My question is --Are there any happy endings to this sort of addiction? And

how do we get there?

I know you are going to say we dont get there--He does.

But if anyone has had success please respond with your story.

Thank you in advance and fingers crossed
Old 11-19-2012, 10:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

Unfortunately you already know the answer. Until he wants to get better there is little you can do. You can be there for if he ready other than that I would suggest alanon.

There are lots of happy endings but only when the person wants to get better.
Old 11-19-2012, 10:39 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome wornoutagain -

I'm so sorry you're going through this. Like you said, his recovery is up to him, but the good news is that he did seek treatment for it in July and was doing well which at least indicates a desire to get better.

Have you checked out the Family/Friends of Substance Abusers on our forum? You're not alone in this, and I think if you have ongoing support it will help you cope. Addiction isn't easy to deal with. I wish you and your boyfriend all the best.

Friends and Family of Substance Abusers - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Old 11-19-2012, 10:43 AM
  # 4 (permalink)