Notices

Journey Begins

Old 11-10-2012, 06:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Journey Begins

Hi all after another night with little recognition it is time for a change. So here goes day 1 today.

A little about me live in Australia and have 2 kids and a third due in January next year. I work as a state manager and manage a team of about 40 in telecommunications.

So why am I here? I have recognised the need to stop drinking as my drinking has got to the point where it is has potential to affect my health, my family & my career.

I suppose I am similar to most and have managed to hide alot of my drinking but i still have hurt those closest to me but in saying this I have also been incredibly lucky, on reflection just the amount of times I drove while drinking is scary and to date not having it affect work seriously having managed to control it but it is spirling. I am a night drinker and can easily drink a 700m bottle of scotch and operate a normal next day

My goal i dont know, never drink again the thought scares me, get it under contral , was it ever under control. so lets aim for a week I dont think in the last 15 years i have been without a drink for a week and see where that takes me ideally i would like to get to the stage where i could be a social drinker but in majotity of case a social drink ends up in a binge

Very aprehensive and will draw on forum for support and i suppose i have been lying to myself and others for some time and now is time for action
Old 11-10-2012, 06:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome gorc! It's great to have you here.

I tried to control the amounts I drank, but found it was impossible. I always meant well, but ended up drunk and doing stupid things every time I picked up. I had no choice but to give it up all together. It was such a relief to be free of it.

You aren't alone - you have us to help you figure this out. You can do it.
Old 11-10-2012, 06:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)