Notices

New

Old 11-10-2012, 08:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New

Hello, I am brand new to this sight, and hope it will be helpful for me. I am a 41 year old wife and mother of a 4 year old. I have been drinking (what I considered socially, but now realize is not the case) since I was about 16. In my twenties, I started to feel like my husband and I drank too much, and we did on occassion, but I figured that was what being young is all about. I rarely drank during the week back then.

Then, in my thirties, I got divorced and remarried to my current, husband, a wonderful man. He is a fun Irish guy who does like to drink. I am of German heritage and love my beer. We've been married for 7 years, together for 9. For several years now, I've been concerned about our drinking habits. We discuss this frequently, and even set rules for otherselves. Sometimes we follow them, sometimes we don't.

I joined today because I want to seriously monitor our drinking habits, and make changes as needed. I have a feeling we are alcoholics, or at least have an alcohol disorder. I try to gage our habits compared to our friends, and I think we drink slightly more than our friends. My brother had an alcohol problem and quit. He's been sober for 3 years and loves it. My sister also has a problem (in my opinion) but doesn't think she does.
My husband and I are very successful and very in love, but we just love to drink and have fun. When we overdo it, it is usually when it's just the two of us. After all these years, we still find each other fascinating, and will talk and drink wine and beer for hours and hours.

He can handle a hang over, WAY better than I can. I hate hangovers, and get them pretty bad. I am very sensitive to being dehydrated. I appreciate any advice you may have and will answer anything you ask totally honestly. I am here because I am worried about our health and well-being, and don't want to be bad examples for my son.