Notices

Just another FNG

Old 11-04-2012, 08:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just another FNG

New guy here! I'm just trying to figure out if I am or am not an alcoholic.

I'm 19, live in Georgia and I'm an aircraft mechanic... I make okay money, have 6 months left before I can take my FAA test to be a licensed aircraft mechanic. Currently in college for a related degree. Single, busy work and school schedule, distant family, no friends outside work, no girlfriend.

Since I was 15 or so I've drank pretty much every single night. 95% just enough to get a buzz and pass out (I have a very restless mind, alcohol kinda helps me just slow down)... I don't really have any friends because I've always been kind of anti social, horrible with women. To be honest, I've been depressed for most of my life. I find the world repulsive and I honestly just drink to make things not seem quite so bad. I don't do drugs, smoked a joint or 2 in highschool but that was short lived.

I've never driven drunk, I've never missed a class/work because i was hungover and I've never come to class/work drunk. I can't say I've ever really had anything negative happen to me because of my drinking except, "beer farts". I don't like going to parties or anything like that... Pretty much just like to sit at the house with my dogs, drink beer and watch the history channel when I'm free and try to do that every single day. I'm not sure if I have a physical addiction to alcohol or not...

I've had people, mainly young people my age in class who know what I do on my spare time say that I am an alcoholic. But being said, is what I'm doing really all that bad?

Just looking for opinions.
Old 11-04-2012, 08:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

new here also

My first reaction to your post was: then why are you here?