Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Am I the only one here who can be easily unsettled by small troubles?

Notices

Old 10-19-2012, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sober since October

Location: In the world in my eyes...Somewhere I've never been before...

Hi, all. I hope, things are going good for you.

I'm almost through my Day 5, which is Friday and the start of the weekend. I'm glad that I managed to keep the promise I'd given myself for this Friday "No wine, no cookies to compensate wine". So I stuck to healthy food and stayed within my 1500 calories boundaries. And I dragged myself out of bed at 5.30 a.m. to get to my 7 a.m. workout with a personal trainer. He is a very positive person and working out with him is a great way for me to start a day.

So my day was quite fine until… I scratched my car in the parking lot. Just absolutely foolishly did it. I am a good driver and have no problem with a parking job, and here we are! I was so mad at myself!

Well. SomehowI took a deep breath and told myself that when I get home, I am not going to have a glass of wine to soothe these feelings about me being an idiot. And, actually, I did not want wine.

It made me realize that when I faced some major troubles, or even some tragic situations in my life, I never drank, but got myself together and focused on what should be done about that. And it just drives me crazy, that I can deal with serious troubles, handle a lot of things, but some foolish small stuff can just unsettle me and make feel like I am screwing everything up. I know it is not true, but still.

Anyone is like me here?

Sorry for whimpering about some little scratch on my car. After all, I am sober on Friday evening, though still pissed at myself.

Have a great and sober weekend!
Old 10-19-2012, 09:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Not Alone