Notices

Does staying sober become normal?

Old 10-15-2012, 03:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does staying sober become normal?

Morning All, or afternoon depending on where you are!

I'm new to the sober lifestyle but so far so good. This Thursday I will be at 5 weeks. Not drinking is starting feel ok, I don't think about it much or look for it. I get the odd challenge here and there but overall I'm quite surprised at how I have adapted to the change. It helps being in a healthy environment at home where my wife hardly drinks at all and my kids remind me everyday why I should stay sober.

I notice there are posters on here who have been sober 1,2 or even 10 years. How does that feel? When you reach 2 years sober does it feel totally normal not to drink. Do you ever doubt yourself? Do you ever feel the urge to drink?

I used to smoke cigarettes and gave them up about 4 years ago. Every now and then I still get the urge to have a cigarette. It generally passes but if I'm in certain situation (which funny enough don't happen anymore!) like out with friends having a drink then I sometimes get tempted but I never give in. Is that what it's like to be long term sober? Do you still, now and then, get a craving?

Just wondering.
Old 10-15-2012, 03:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sneeker
Congrats on your sober time. I'm so happy it is going well for you so far.

I will have 14 1/2 years of sobriety, and it feels like the norm. I don't know when it changed from being something I didn't do (not drinking) to just my normal life, but it was in the first few years. I struggled with cravings for awhile, so it didn't feel normal not to drink until those cravings were finally lifted. Now I rarely even notice if someone is drinking. Nor do I desire it

Every now and again there is a fleeting thought, but that is all it is. Fleeting, and I don't give it any more thought. I have never lost that fear of what alcohol did to me. I never want to feel that way again.