Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

New to this forum looking for some help & support my boyfriend is an addict

Notices

Old 10-16-2012, 06:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi there,

This is my first time posting on this forum, but for the past few days I've been reading other posts trying to understand my situation.

My boyfriend is a drug addict. Drug of choice, I would say Opiates. We've been together a year now and at first, everything was great. I fell in love with him and have been in a way "addicted" to him ever since. When we were first together, I never suspected he had a problem. He would drink or do cocaine on occasion at a party, like many people our age. (I am 23, he is 26) I myself have never done drugs. I am a pot smoker, but I do not believe marijuana to be addicting or even really consider it to be harmful in any way. Other than that, Ive never tried any drug. I never judge others for doing drugs, and never brought it up to my boyfriend when he would occasionally do a few lines because to me that wasn't a big deal.