Notices

2nd Attempt

Old 10-07-2012, 05:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question 2nd Attempt

I am one week sober today! I was never a daily drinker, but a weekend drinker. Once I started, I did not know when to stop! I have know in my heart for over a year that I have a problem. I stopped drinking on June 24, 2012 and did great until July 27, 2012. That is when I started drinking in moderation. I would have a drink here or there, and felt pretty good about it, but slowly I started drinking more and more.... that scared me. And so I am back at it again, this time with a new understanding of my problem. I have read a lot of threads on the website, and so figured joining would be a good idea as well.

I have a friend's bachelorette party next weekend, I am feeling a little nervous about it. Any suggestions for the best way to handle it?
Old 10-07-2012, 05:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Don't go.
Old 10-07-2012, 05:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Blondie0419...Glad to have you with us!
Old 10-07-2012, 05:05 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I wouldn't go chick, too much temptation this early on x
Old 10-07-2012, 05:06 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

im the same way. I would just drink on the weekends. But after the first drink I wouldnt stop. Everyone is gonna be hammered at that bachelorette party so I would be careful.
Old 10-07-2012, 05:06 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Hello! Welcome aboard. You will find amazing support here. We are all in different boats heading in the same direction.
What if you were DD for the party? If it gets to tough you can head out early. I would personally try to avoid any drinking occasions in the beginning. I understand that this can not be possible for some.
Old 10-07-2012, 05:10 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Being a DD for the party sounds like a possibility! Do you recommend telling some of your closer friends that you have stopped drinking? I was thinking it might be nice to have someone there that has my back.
Old 10-07-2012, 05:16 PM
  # 8 (permalink)