Notices

Marijuana and Cigs Recovery

Old 09-22-2012, 01:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Marijuana and Cigs Recovery

9/22/12
Hello guys. My name is Don and I am new to sobering up.
I hope this topic doesn't offend others who say Marijuana is a good thing. I was abusing someone else's medication just to leave it short.
Yesterday was the day I got caught with my 1/8th of bud along with my piece and pack of cigs and tomorrow is my birthday.

I realized I'm not going to make it though college with smoking taking up most of my time. I smoked weed at least 5 times a day which is during school.
My cigs addiction went from one cig a day to at least 5 a day. So it is time to quit and I feel like **** on my first day of recovery.

I wanted to ask some of your guys opinions on this:

Will my life be different if I completely quit smoking for the rest of my life? Explain

Will I remain friends with my other friends who I smoked with a lot?

Will people see me differently because I quit smoking?

What are the benefits of sobering up on smoking?
Old 09-22-2012, 01:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I can only speak about alcohol, but yes, my life is completely different since I began recovery. And, if your friends are truly friends they will stick with you, but I had to remove a few people from my life who were tox to me. People might see you differently if you stop smoking marijuana, but I have found that it's pointless to care what others think about me. It's none of my business. The benefits of a sober life are endless. You will likely find getting through college much easier, which will help you to find a good job to take care of yourself. My self-esteem improved enormously. The benefits are endless.
Old 09-22-2012, 02:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Kurdish - welcome

I was a pot smoker for 30 years or so, so I know the hold it can have on you.