Notices

Alright Today is the Day It Begins!!

Old 08-24-2012, 12:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alright Today is the Day It Begins!!

Alright, just to start off, my name is Paul, I'm definitely an alcoholic. I've been battling alcoholism for 3 years now. I first admitted I was an alcoholic 3 months ago on this site when it felt I had reached rock bottom. I had lost my home, my friends, my job, my money, and basically my life. I spent all day in my room working and drinking. I ended up going to the hospital one day with an irregular heart beat. The doctor ended up saying there was nothing wrong with any of the tests or xrays but it might have been caused by dehydration... and attributed it to "Holiday Heart". That was when I finally acknowledged that I was indeed driven by alcohol and I was not in control no matter how hard I tried to convince myself.

I'm not really a binge drinker and I don't go on "binges". I put that in quotes because I'm not sure the correct definition of it. I tend to view binging as multiple days of drinking copious amounts of alcohol. I'm more of the controlled, slow, and steady functional alcoholic. I do have a problem with alcohol in the house, so we typically just buy enough for the night. Usually it's two bottles of wine between two of us that we'll drink from maybe 5:30 to 10. Before I used to drink a pint or half a pint of vodka every day along with the wine. I hadn't done that in over 2 months until this week. This is why I am here today, is because I have enough momentum on the positive side of life that I do not want that to change. I do not want to go back in to that life of seclusion and depression.