Notices

Suggestions

Old 08-22-2012, 04:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Suggestions

Hello Everyone, Life has been good on Aug.19th I had 14 months clean. My problem is this for the past month I have been surrounded by people in their active addiction. At work, at my house it seems every time I turn around anymore it is in my face. This has been very upsetting for me I am still pretty new to sobriety. I know that this is a part of life and I cannot change that. Has this happened to anyone else and if so how did you deal with it?
Old 08-22-2012, 04:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think it's important to set boundaries in our lives.
That can be hard when you're used to people pleasing like I was, but it can be done.

I made boundaries and I insisted people stuck to them. No booze or drugs in or around my house for example.

I avoided the boozefests and the druggy parties because they held no interest for me and I had no business being there.

I also tried hard to fill my life with the kind of people I wanted to be around, and be like...

I found that all that pretty much naturally drove my old buddies - the ones interested in my old lifestyle - away.

D
Old 08-22-2012, 04:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi lhenderson . Congratulations on your 14 months! I like what Dee said about establishing firm boundaries. Also, what techniques have helped you so far in staying sober? You must have a pretty solid program for yourself.

During this overwhelming time is there any way you can make your home or at least your own little corner of it a total safe haven? That's what I had to do. I had to know I had this one place exempt from negativity & from booze. That meant no more alcohol in the house & no harmful people. Eventually that has lead to me being able to better take care of me. Even stopped a lot of behaviors like loaning (giving) money to others, acquiescing constantly, stopped letting myself be treated poorly. That sort of thing.
Old 08-22-2012, 04:40 PM