Notices

Just starting out...

Old 08-07-2012, 02:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just starting out...

Hi... i'm new here and abit scared!

I have only recently come to terms with my alcohol addiction.. I also have a mental health condition (schizoeffective disorder) ... I find I use alcohol to self medicate and it's got out of control... I also have a tendency to OD when drunk... which has caused alot of concern from everyone...

I'm getting help and started Acamprosate today ... the Dr wanted me to start antabuse but I wasn't sure about it... i would appreciate any advice on these medications from people who have experienced them...

thanx xxx
Old 08-07-2012, 02:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome bluegem - good to have you join us
You'll find a lot of support here

Unfortunately I have no personal knowledge of either medication

D
Old 08-07-2012, 03:06 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

thank you for your reply xx

It's weird saying it out loud, it's always something i've hidden... but it feels good to finally face it... I haven't had a drink since 27th july now, so going OK so far..
Old 08-07-2012, 03:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hello Bluegem. You asked about Antabuse.
I was on it for a while. But after a few days, I thought 'why am I on it ' It's all in the mind anyways. You really don't need a tablet to stop you drinking. All you have to do is to stop taking it for three days and you're back drinking.
You have to get the mind-set to stop.
By the way, my Doctor gave me the wrong dosage. I nearly has a brain heammorage with it.
Take Care x
Old 08-07-2012, 03:27 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Bluegem

I don't know about the drugs either, but I would recommend getting into a recovery program to help with the mental side of the addiction too. You'll get plenty of ideas here x
Old 08-08-2012, 12:23 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

thanx for your replies...

that sounds really scary Bonnie... glad your OK now..