Notices

advice and help

Old 07-29-2012, 04:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

advice and help

hi. i have been abusing percocet everyday for the past 3 years. for the last 3 months i started using heroin everyday. i am deathly afraid of the fact that i am doing heroin and have a strong desire to quit everything and live a sober life. i started attending na meetings nearly everyday for the past 2 months. these meetings really make me feel hopeful that i can quit and live a relatively happy life without drugs. my problem is that i cant make it past a few days without picking up again. i desperately want to get clean, i am so sick of the insanity of drug use. rehab is not an option for me because i have no health insurance. does anyone remember how they first got clean and could you give me some advice how i can make it work. thank you
Old 07-29-2012, 04:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi makemebetter

I'm afraid I have no experience with heroin, but I'm sure others will be alone - you'll find a lot of support here.

I was a drinker but I found I had to make a lot of changes in my life about what I did in response to problems, the people I hung out with etc.

Do you have a sponsor at NA or someone there to talk with?

D
Old 07-29-2012, 04:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome makemebetter -
The support here really helped me get through those first days of not drinking. I don't think I could have done it without a continual means of support.

I don't have any experience with heroin, but others here have been where you're at. You might want to check out the substance abuse board: Substance Abuse - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

Have you thought about talking to a doctor (there are some that even specialize in addiction). Glad you're here..... you're not alone and you can recover!
Old 07-29-2012, 07:12 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Powerless over Alcohol

Welcome aboard.