Notices

2 years sober and 1st post

Old 07-26-2012, 07:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

2 years sober and 1st post

Hey everyone!

So I've been mulling around these boards for a little over 2 years now. When I was having problems when I quit I found comfort in some stories posted on here. So thank you for that help!

I guess I should introduce myself. I quit Fathers day of 2010 so I could break the generations of alcoholics in my family and someday be a great father. What was my poison? Beer, and tons of it, usually a 12 Pack of something that had the word 'Ice' in it (high alc) and a 40oz of the cheapest stuff. It took me a good year to convince myself I was a full blown alcoholic then another year to muster up the strength the quit. That was a rough time, with all the anxiety, sleeplessness, and mood fluctuations I also enjoyed what I liked to call Shadow People. Or maybe paranoia? I don't know, I saw shadows running past me. Freaked me out at first, then it just got annoying.

So why am I posting after all this time? Stress, and tons of it. I'm finding myself having that urge again. As I'm sitting here, I have incense burning and I'm drinking soothing tea just to keep me sane. My parents are getting divorced, which in itself really isn't that stressful. But it's how my dad left my mom financially is. He was cheating on her while she was busting her butt working in another state to pay the mortgage. He also refused to get a job and just decided to not pay the bills (mortgage included). So now I'm trying to get everything back on track financially and he's begging me for money. An hour later my mom calls me and wants to know what he's doing or just to vent about him to me. Which is my daily life.

On top of all that, I'm that guy. The guy everyone calls if they need to complain about something or need help with something. Which is usually fine. But this past month has really been testing my resolve.