Notices

totally out of control...

Old 07-25-2012, 04:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

totally out of control...

I'm visiting my family and, without going into details, I'm sooooo rocky. I'm new to AA and dealing with a lot of old family stuff (esp. with my mother) and it has the effect of making me feel unhinged. The voices in my head keep saying I'm a loser, I can't do anything right, blah blah. This is when resisting booze becomes harder and harder. I have bipolar as well and managing the mood swings is like paddling through a hurricane on the open sea. Drink quiets the craziness so quickly that I'm really craving the relief. I just called my sponsor who reminded me of what it feels like LATER.

I really hope I can weather this out.....

Thanks for being out there.

Zorah

Old 07-25-2012, 04:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Adventures In SpaceTime

Sorry for your troubles, zorah. It's never fun struggling with drinking. Resisting certainly helps, but eventually I always lost that fight sooner or later. What worked better was my resolve to never drink again no matter what, and allowing myself to surrender to the simple reality that I was not going to drink. I gave myself completely over to this simple understanding, even though I was pulled in different directions, I still held onto the simple truth I was not going to drink ever again no matter what.

What I resisted was letting go of that understanding, I held on. I accepted how my addictive mind was playing me, and I could see the game being played out. I didn't waste energy fighting my addiction, I put everything into supporting myself with knowing I wasn't going to drink again.

I really hope you can weather this out too.... I know you can!!
Old 07-25-2012, 04:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)