Notices

new at this, but ready to quit?

Old 07-17-2012, 01:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Arrow new at this, but ready to quit?

hi all,

thanks for reading my post! i didn't mean for it to be so long–i got a little carried away...

a bit of background: university student. i've been drinking heavily for quite a few years, but this past year has especially been a drunken stupor. a typical day started with a drink, because that was the only way to start in the morning, and ended with enough liquor to knock me out. in between, of course, i was suitably tipsy. i went to class in a fog. and don't get me started on the weekends...my school is a well-known "party school," so i never lacked options. it got to the point where i would finish a fifth of liquor in a night. (and i'm of very small stature...) for months, i would blackout thursday, friday, and saturday nights. and my blackouts weren't like other people's–i would be taking a shot one minute and wake up on a couch the next, with absolutely no recollection whatsoever. and instead of worrying about it, i just kept drinking.

i used to think this wasn't too abnormal. then friends started becoming "concerned," then i started wasting all (and i do mean all) of my money, then my grades dropped significantly and i almost lost my scholarships, then i started losing friends, and then–THEN–i took my idiocy up another level. one day i drove up to visit my friend's town about an hour and a half away. i got ********* that night at my friend's house. and then, for some reason unbeknownst to anyone, i decided to drive home. my friend said i tricked the whole house and told them i was just going outside for some air, and then i left. i drove plastered for an hour and a half on a major interstate. at four in the morning. i'm so, so grateful i didn't hurt anyone.