Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Alcoholism is a progressive disease - my story illustrates this.

Notices

Old 07-15-2012, 08:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

There is a photo of me in my aunt's wedding album, looking adorable while chugging down a glass of champagne; adults all around me with "aww, isn't that cute" expressions. I was two years old.

Alcoholism runs strong on my father's side of the family, it killed my father (liver cancer) and his father (heart attack). Everyone in his family is either a teetotaler, or an alcoholic, no in-between.

At 14, I smoked hash for the first time. From 14-22 I did a lot of drugs, everything from weed or hash to acid, PCP, heroin, coke, shrooms. I graduated high school, went to college, supported myself by working as a bartender (oh, the irony) from age 16 onwards, graduated college, moved to the US and started a company. Despite being high pretty much daily, I was also quite "high achieving." (LOL that sounds funny.)

By my early 20s, I pretty much decided I was done with all the drugs; it felt like a very adult decision. I didn't drink much for a while. In fact, I lived with an alcoholic for a while and was sober all that time, finally left him when his drinking became ridiculous. That felt like an adult decision as well.

By my late 20s, I was partying hard. A couple of times I thought I might have a "drinking problem" because I was starting to stash vodka behind vents and so on, and drinking to make myself feel better. In my late 20s, after some fairly traumatic events, I first saw a shrink and was diagnosed with MDD (major depressive disorder) and on meds. Since then I've been on and off various meds for various diagnoses. This is tied to the alcoholism...I definitely drank in part to shut my head off and get numb.