Notices

New, wondering when depression/anxiety will lift

Old 07-12-2012, 12:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New, wondering when depression/anxiety will lift

Hi, I'm new to this site. I am finally admitting to myself that I have a problem. I drank socially during college, but after having two kids and becoming a stay at home mom, I got depressed. I started drinking in the afternoons while the kids were napping and trying to sober up before my husband got home. I have been drinking a bottle of wine or so every day for three years with several times where I stopped for a month or two.

I recently admitted to my husband that I had been secretly drinking and told him I want to quit. I haven't had a drink in 4 days. I'm feeling very depressed, like I don't have any reason to live, combined with a lot of anxiety about the future. I think that not drinking will help with the depression, but I'm wondering how long it will take to go away, because right now getting drunk seems like it would be a nice escape. Can anyone give me an idea of how long it took for their depression to lift?
Old 07-12-2012, 12:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I also suffer from anxiety and am a sahm too.

I quit in Jan for 7 weeks, on day 11 Again now. You're right, the depression is often caused by drink. for me the anxiety is bad in the first few days of stopping. Don't drink though, you will start to feel better. It lifts for me after about a week. the lack of sleep in the early dys doesn't help either. I'm just starting to feel physically and mentally better now, nearly 2 weeks in. hope you feel better soon. If you drink you will feel much much worse in the morning
Old 07-12-2012, 12:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you for the encouragement, it means a lot to know there's another stay at home mom struggling with this.
Old 07-12-2012, 12:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)