Notices

Feel like I woke up from a long dream

Old 07-11-2012, 07:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feel like I woke up from a long dream

So, it's the strangest thing. I've been drinking heavily for about nine or ten years. I started off as a binge drinker, then steadily ramped up to daily drinking. Through it all, I've managed to do things I'm proud of in my life and in my career. Somehow the drinking never caught up to me. The tragedy of it was entirely private. Outside, fine, a bit of a lush but no big deal. Inside, enslaved and crippled by shame. I always carried around anxiety over where my next drink would be and how I could secretly get drunker than I appeared and how to replace the booze that I drank before my roommates or friends noticed... etc, etc, etc.

And then something bizarre happened. A big change happened at work and I realized how unhappy I'd been, and how hopeful I am now. And then I just quit. I wasn't expecting it, I just knew all of a sudden that I had to do it RIGHT THEN or maybe my luck would start running out and I'd have to start paying this major karmic bill that I've run up.

It's been ten days now, mostly. I drank at a friend's wedding this weekend, and one night last week I had a couple (2) shots before bed when I couldn't sleep at like 3am. But I'm not too stressed about those lapses considering I'd gotten to the point where if there was alcohol in the house... and I live with a lot of people, so there usually is... and there was no one watching, I felt physically incapable of not taking a shot or a sip of wine or chugging a beer. Even in the morning. Before work. When I felt ill. And half my brain was saying no, no, no, no, no. Even when it made me throw up.

The first few days were really, really hard. But then it got easier. Way easier than I ever imagined it could be.