Notices

What a difference a few months makes ...

Old 06-21-2012, 03:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Choosing Life

What a difference a few months makes ...

I work at a therapeutic riding center for disabled adults and children, which is work that brings me sooo much joy. I work directly with the horses, leading them while the children ride. It is rewarding work that brings so much to my life.

I have been doing this for several years, but just started at this particular center last year, when I was at the WORST with my drinking. I worked there 3 days a week, and most days I showed up hungover. This year is a whole new experience doing it completely sober and NOT hungover. And what an even bigger blessing that has turned out to be ... in more ways than one.

Because today, the horse I was leading had a major freakout. The rider was thrown (he's okay, thankfully) and I had to keep the horse under control so he wouldn't hurt himself, me, or anyone else riding/working in the arena. And he's a BIG horse and I'm a small person! It was all over in a matter of seconds, thank God, and ended on a positive note for all concerned. But I couldn't help but wonder how badly it could have turned out if I had still been in the foggy/hungover state that I used to be in when I was there. I've worked with horses all my life, so I know that you have to have your wits about you when you're around them ... they're big, they can hurt you, and if you're weak or scared or ineffective in some way, they can sense it. And if they're freaked out and they don't feel confident in your ability to "make it better," things can get real bad, real fast.