Notices

Self-Will and Major Changes in 1 Year

Old 06-17-2012, 08:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Self-Will and Major Changes in 1 Year

Hi All,
My story in brief:

I am an alcoholic. I came into recovery in early October 2011 and put together 6 months of sponsored sobriety in AA beginning Nov. 4th before relapsing for 2 of 4 days ending on May 27, 2012. I am also a 5th year graduate student and I plan to and am scheduled to finish my doctorate this fall. In mid-May 2012, I also chose to terminate my engagement to my fiance, whom I had been in a relationship with since the Winter of 2007. She and I now live separately, but have come around and would like to see our relationship work long-term.

In the 6 months of my sobriety, she had acted and behaved bitterly, angrily, and insanely to a level that parelled my behavior in the 12 or so months prior to the start of my recovery. Trust me when I say that the relationship was utter chaos and turmoil during my 6 months of sobriety. She fully admits to being the one that "brought the crazy" during these 6 months, but she is now sponsored in Al-Anon, works the steps, and attends regular meetings. Prior to all of this, we had a wonderful relationship and it was that which inspired me to ask her for the unmatched privilege of being her husband. I hoped from the moment I met her that I would one day marry her. We see a couples therapist still, live independently, and go out on 1X weekly dates to reconnect. I have a lease that runs through August 15, and we hope to revisit the idea of moving back to our house together at that point, albeit as an unengaged couple.

During my 6 months of sobriety, I completed steps 1-5, but failed to enrich myself in the fellowship of AA and spiritually. I now strive to enrich both daily in the hopes of maintaining long-term sobriety.

Here are my dilemmas: